After resetting your password, when you re-login for the first time with the new password it may give this screen asking you to enter in your old password. This is because you were previously signed into your Chromebook with your old password and it needs to unlock and restore your local data.
- What is local data? Local data are files that are physically stored on your device's hard drive and not within the cloud (your Google Drive storage).
If you didn't know your old password:
- Click on Forgot old password.
- At the next screen, click on Proceed anyway.
- Any files locally stored on your device will be deleted and cannot be restored.
- Any files stored in your Google Drive will not be affected.
- This is a Google security feature to protect your data from unauthorized users.
Discover more information about the importance of cleaning up your Chromebooks Downloads folder.